Justice, Desi Ishtyle

I’ve been in a crappy mood for the last 24 hours or so, and things didn’t appear to be improving this morning. I had to leave late for work (Mom’s in Mumbai, so I had to wait for the maid), and traffic was being especially obnoxious on the way to work. At one particular traffic junction, I just missed the yellow light, so was first in line waiting for the light to change. This was a three-way intersection, and a cop was standing there making sure people obeyed the lights. About ten seconds after my side stopped, he stopped traffic coming from the right. But scooters were still trying to sneak through. He had to physically restrain one small moped being driven by a lady, but as she was moving her vehicle back, another motorcycle tried to break through. They literally drove right by the cop, and just as they were about to get out of range, he reached out and grabbed hold of the passenger’s collar.

Then, I shit you not, he literally ran behind the bike across the intersection, with a death grip on the guy’s shirt as the driver was still trying to get away. It was like something out of Benny Hill, without the funny music. They didn’t go very far, and the cop got the driver to pull over on the side of the road. But he was still holding onto the guy’s collar, and the bike damn near toppled over on top of the bike riders. Unfortunately, that’s exactly when the light changed, and I had to start driving. But the last thing I saw was the cop smacking those two guys in the face.

Now, I’ve mentioned in the past my grievances with traffic in India. But I gotta tell you, that brightened up my mood like you will not believe. You may call it “police brutality”. I call it “about damn time”!

Leave a Reply

