Where did everybody go?

One of the “facts of life” that you never hear as a child is that when you grow up, it becomes harder and harder to find time for a good, long conversation with a friend. You’re too busy with work and life, they’re too busy with work and life, and God alone help you if there are multiple time zones in the way (as in my case). Reminds me of a simpler time in my life, when I could walk (or bike) to my friend Gautam’s house, and spend several hours there just talking about stuff. Well, specifically, I’d go there to talk about the girl I was crushing on (and later, dating), but it was the very act of being able to spend that kind of time with a friend that I miss. Today, the most I can manage is a 30 minute phone call every couple of months, and that’s just not right. Maybe I can do a better job of managing my time. It just bothers me that the spontaneity of calling a friend “just to chat” isn’t as much of an option for me as it used to be.

Leave a Reply

