Has anything happened recently?

I’m finally back, after a suitably long hiatus. What can I say, I was bored.

The 2007 cricket world cup began in the West Indies a few weeks ago, and what a tournament it’s been so far. Already, one of the featured teams (Pakistan) is out, after losing a match to one of the supposed “minnow” teams, Ireland. Less than a day after the match, Pakistan’s coach Bob Woolmer, one of the most respected coaches in the game, was found dead in his hotel room . The subsequent (and ongoing) police investigation has decided that this was a suspicious death, and claim that he died as a result of manual strangulation. For a while today, it was even the headline story on CNN.com.

Another major news story is that India is on the verge of crashing out of the World Cup in the first round as well, thanks to their unexpected loss to Bangladesh, another supposedly “easy” team. In order to make it to the “Super 8”, they need to beat Sri Lanka tonight. And Sri Lanka is being spoken of as a potential contender for the title, since they have a pretty well run and balanced team. Why is this such a big deal? Because financially, cricket really needs India to make it through. There’s a ton of money riding on the Boys In Blue, both in terms of endorsements as well as number of people watching the tournament. In a way, I’m kinda hoping India does lose. For one thing, it might be a needed reality check on the mandarins in the ICC, cricket’s governing body. For another thing, it’ll be interesting to see the fallout on the game as a whole.

On another note, I’ve decided to cut back on the downloading a bit. For the foreseeable future, I’m only going to be downloading currently running shows (24, Daily Show, etc), and save the other stuff (Star Trek, Rurouni Kenshin) for later. In place of that, I’ll be working through my gaming backlog, since the PC at home is now up and running. I’ll start out with some of the shorter ones, so I can knock them off the list. First up is probably going to be Max Payne 2 . Let’s see how much of that I can get through this weekend…

Mom’s having knee replacement surgery on Sunday. She’s had bad knees since about as long as she’s had me (actually, they’re kinda sorta related. They’re bad because of a car accident 27 years ago. When in the hospital, she found out she was pregnant. Guess I was a good omen from the very beginning. ). I wasn’t here for dad’s surgery five years ago, so this will be pretty new for me. I’ll keep y’all updated.

Dunno if there’s anything else I need to write about at the moment.

Well, I am engaged now, but that’s about it.



3 Responses to “Has anything happened recently?”

  1. dinamehta Says:

    Interesting priority list … cricket, tv dowload, games, mom’s knee replacement, engagement. ;

  2. ardafif Says:

    I write stream of consciousness, so I listed them in the order I thought of them.

  3. dinamehta Says:

    Again … interesting priority list, in your stream of consciousness.

Leave a Reply

