An enjoyable evening

After spending yesterday afternoon recovering from my previous excesses, we went to a family friend’s farm on the outskirts of the town. They’d set up a variety of games for everyone to play, and it was amusing to see all these uncles and aunties (my folks included) running around and screaming like little kids. Even I got into the spirit of things despite my best efforts. The most memorable game for me was probably Queen of Sheba. For those of you not familiar with this, everyone is divided into two teams. One person is selected to be the “Queen of Sheba”, and she tells the teams to get her things that she desires. Obviously these are random objects (like a tire jack, or a glass of water from the nearby fountain). Kinda like a scavenger hunt, but much more frantic. I’m standing near the drinks table, when I hear the demand for white socks. Guess what I usually wear? Off comes the shoe, off comes the sock, and I sprint to the front. (I later apologised to aunty for her having to hold my sock. ). Later on, I’m sitting near the front, and the Queen and her “advisors” (or chamchas ) are deciding what to ask for next. My team leader was standing near them, and she turns to me, going, “Are you wearing a ganji (undershirt)?” I immediately start unbuttoning my shirt, because I can sense what’s coming. As soon as they ask for someone wearing an undershirt, I show mine to them. But is that enough? Nnnooooo… they want it in their hands. And so much flesh was displayed. Turns out, I was probably the only one there wearing an undershirt.

Anyway, after a while, Saumil, Kaushal, Roshni and myself decided to head home. We’d already gotten a DVD to watch ( Pyaar Ke Side Effects ), and after picking up some Subway (yes, they’ve opened here. I got a Paneer Tikka sandwich. It was surprisingly cheap), we got home and popped the movie in. The movie was actually surprisingly good . The biggest surprise for me was how matter-of-fact they were in dealing with the idea that, even in India, one night stands happen, and physicality in a relationship isn’t a bad thing. A lot of the jokes and comments about relationships hit home, but in an endearing way. Overall, a worthy rental, and maybe even a purchase for some people. A word of warning, though. This movie isn’t really meant for the parents or the little kids, so think twice before making it a family movie event.

I spent a good chunk of this morning at the Regional Transport Office (RTO) getting in the paperwork for my learner’s license. After waiting in line for 30 minutes, this was the extent of my “test”:
“What’s your full name?”
“What’s your address?”
“Cover your right eye. Now read this number (on the form itself, about two feet away).”
“Now cover your left eye, and read this other number (also on the form itself).”
“Now go stand behind that lady and get your form signed.”

Done.

One Response to “An enjoyable evening”

  1. goddessrinki Says:

    All your posts about food make me hungry….I miss the fact that food in India is soooo good, sooo cheap, and soooo easily available….mmmmm!

Leave a Reply

