Oh Happy Day!

On my 16th birthday, my parents got me a Kinetic Honda as a surprise gift. I fell in love at first sight. I loved that baby, and believe me, I wasn’t too happy about the fact that I ended up having to share it with Roshni. Anyway, they’re currently using it as a company vehicle and dad’s forbidden me from riding it, citing the increased traffic in the city. Well, phooey on him. I ended up going late to work today since he had some visitors, so the driver and I were going on the scooter. I convinced him to let me drive to the office, and it felt like old times. Now, if only I could convince dad to let me drive it more regularly…

By the way, on the way to work, we stopped by Gold’s Gym and I got a one day trial for tonight. I’m probably going to end up going there, but I figure I might as well try it out first. Heaven help me if it turns out to be as bad as Talwalkar’s yesterday.

As for my big surprise from last night… first, some background. When I was in my early to mid teens, I was even nerdier than I am now. I loved computers, I loved action-packed stories, and I had what seemed to me a cool idea for a story. So I wrote it out on dad’s laptop when he would bring it home at night. That thing was a labour of love, I tell you. I don’t know if that Word document exists anymore, but fortunately, I’d printed out several copies. Now, about two and a half years ago, my mom found one of those copies and brought it with her to San Jose. I talked about it with great glee on this very blog, and started transcribing the story into Microsoft Word, so I could have a soft copy that could be stored safely. I also promised that once the story was fully typed into my computer, I’d post it on this blog for your reading enjoyment. Unfortunately, I never got around to finishing it, and for a while I didn’t know where the hard copy had gone with all the moving. Then yesterday, I’m looking through a drawer in my room, and lo and behold, I see another copy of the story! I’ll still have to start transcribing it from scratch, but it’s a short story, so it shouldn’t take too long. And, in order to motivate me to actually get this thing done, I promise to post a part of the story every week. I’ll include links to previous parts as we go, so you can catch up easily.

One more promise I’ll make is that I won’t change or edit the story in anyway. I will transcribe every last inappropriate comma and sentence fragment, whether the grammar is correct or not. I wrote this thing more than ten years ago, and it shows. But I was also pleasantly surprised by some of my writing, in the sense of, “How the hell did I come up with that? Damn!” Hopefully, you’ll enjoy this journey of discovery almost as much as I’ll enjoy bringing it to you. I have only one request… be gentle with me in your feedback.

And so, starting tomorrow, I will bring to you… the adventures of Comkid.

Leave a Reply

