The early bird can keep the damn worm!

I don’t like waking up early. Especially if I’ve been to sleep late. The way I see it, my options are:

1) Not exercise in the morning
2) Reduce the time spent chatting with my friends at night

Honestly, I’m more inclined to go with the former. (You’re welcome!) So there goes half my strategy of the twice daily workouts. I also still need to go to the gym and start my membership. Will take care of that today.

Talked to dad’s partner (aka my new boss) about what I might be doing here. He said that one role they’re looking to fill is an internal auditor, to make sure proper processes are being followed. It actually sounds interesting, especially since it’ll give me an idea of the processes in all the departments. People won’t like me much, but for once, I don’t really care.

I’ve already made a few observations regarding the Indian mentality towards life and work, but I keep learning more and more, and the more I see, the more I realise that there will need to be a big change in work ethic before India can approach anything close to being a superpower. One of the big problems here is that people never say no, no matter how much work you give them. They’ll always tell you something will get done, no problem, you’ll have it tonight. Then, when it doesn’t get done, they’ll say they got distracted by some other emergency. And when asked why they didn’t inform you ahead of time that the task wouldn’t get completed, they have this nonplussed look on their face, as if you were speaking in Aramaic. Don’t worry, they say. It’ll get done tomorrow morning, guaranted!

Saw dad bitching some more guys out today for something stupid they did that will cost him lots of money. It’s still fun, especially since they usually deserve it.

In other news, I’ll be getting my cell phone later today. For those of y’all who would like to call me, drop me an email and I’ll send you my new number. I’m getting this phone as part of the Reliance CDMA mobile network. Looks aight, and should get the job done. And if you’re not sure how much it’ll cost to call me, check out these phone cards . Surely, I’m worth a few bucks, no?

One Response to “The early bird can keep the damn worm!”

  1. ssethi Says:

    When I worked with developers offshore – they had the same exact mentality, till you get managers and managers’ managers involved. Then they start acting like they should – like normal developers with real deadlines. Obviously you can see that it pissed me off too. =)

Leave a Reply

