Blah

Some entertainment news:

1) One of my favourite Hindi movies, Angaar , is finally available on DVD . I don’t think I’ll buy it (not much of a DVD collector), but I do highly recommend it. It’s not a very well-known flick, but it’s got some superb acting, especially from the three male leads: Jackie Shroff, Nana Patekar, and, surprisingly enough, Kader Khan, who’s not usually known for his thespian abilities. The ending is more than a little ridiculous and over-the-top, but the movie leading upto it is really great. And there’s this one tune from the movie that’s always stuck in my head. If you see the film, it’s the flute tune that Jackie plays.

2) I saw the premiere episode of the “highly anticipated” new show, Studio 60 On The Sunset Strip . Final verdict? It’s fun. Don’t think it’ll ever have the importance of a West Wing , or the quirkiness of a Sports Night , but it’ll still be a very entertaining and intelligent show. I’d recommend it to anyone who doesn’t like shows about eating worms and screwing your sister. (That last line makes sense if you saw the premiere). If you missed the premiere, you can get it off Netflix .

3) Here’s a list of all the shows I’ll be watching while I’m in India. I figure, it’s either that or I shoot myself, because there ain’t no way I’m watching any of those miserable Indian soaps. *shudders*
a) Spooks
b) Star Trek: The Next Generation
c) The Sopranos
d) Sex and the City (I might as well, if only to see what the hype is about)
e) Oz
f) 24
g) House
h) Lost
i) The Daily Show/Colbert Report
j) Prison Break
k) Studio 60 on the Sunset Strip
l) Farscape
m) Battlestar Galactica
n) Whatever else I can think of

4) I’d comment on American politics, but it’s just so sad and despicable right now, that I’m too depressed to write anything. For the sake of the nation, the Democrats need to win back at least one of either the House or the Senate. This isn’t even about liberal and conservative. It’s about reinstituting the system of checks and balances that’s been out of whack for 6 years. It’s what makes the US system of democracy great, and differentiates it from every single other country out there. Americans take their freedoms for granted. Unfortunately, if things keep up the way they are, they might have less freedoms than they think. It’s bad enough when honest debate is classified as treason. It’s worse when the President says it’s unacceptable to think . And why is this under entertainment? Because every single other country out there is watching this mess and laughing their asses off.

Leave a Reply

