I got paid!

Got the check on Monday, deposited it (and opened a new checking account at TD Canada Trust ) yesterday. Of course, it’ll take five business days to get processed, since I had a US driver’s license as my ID, so I won’t actually get the money till next Thursday. But it’s there. Kinda.

Also, based on some common sense advice I got from a friend (you know who you are), I’m going to get back my reading habit through sheer force of will. I have a bus pass for the rest of August, and there is a bus passing right by the library. Also, I have a 50 minute one-way commute. Let’s see how it goes.

I’ve been ;pondering a lot of things lately, about where I’m going to be six months from now, and what I’ll be doing. The way I see it, here are my options:
a) Go to India at the end of the year, and start setting up the Indian side of Rohit Connexion. This will depend on how the business is going, and if I still want to be involved after I leave here.
b) Go to India at the end of the year, and work with dad for at least a year. It’ll be a great learning experience, and will be very helpful for whenever I do end up going to business school, since I’ll be much better equipped to filter out the bullshit.

Of course, the downside to both those options is that I’d have to move back to India (and for (b), back to Baroda), and I don’t know if I want to do that yet. Which leads me to:
c) Go back to the US and try to find something there.

At the moment, I’m leaning more towards (b), if only because it’s the most guaranteed thing. I don’t mind working with dad. It’s the living in Baroda that bothers me. I’ll essentially be sacrificing my social life for at least one year, probably 18 months. Plus, I’ll have to deal with all the relatives and friends bugging me (jokingly or not) about getting married, and there’s only so much I’ll be able to take of that before I’ll want to shoot myself. Worst of all, I don’t really have any friends left there. Adil’s still there, but he’s married now. I don’t know if Saumil will still be there. That’s about it. I guess I can use the time to catch up on my gaming and reading backlog. *rolls eyes*

On another note, KP and I were briefly tossing around the idea of starting a little business ourselves. The biggest problem with that is that I’d have to move down to Georgia to make it work, since he can’t leave. ;Specifically, I’d probably have to move down to Macon, for a venture that would remain part-time at least in the beginning. And since nothing short of a guaranteed lottery would convince me to move down to the “Dirty South”, that just makes our joint venture a little more challenging. ;Would be great if we could work something out though. Let’s see. And yes, I know he’s reading this. It seems to be the only way I can reliably convey information to him and know he received it.

Leave a Reply

