Yay Papad Pehelwan!

Saumil was in the Bay Area this past weekend, visiting B-Schools, so I finally met him for the first time since Summer 2002. He’s certainly Papad no more. ;Him, Sameer and I had a good time hanging out at V-Bar, then met up with a couple of Sameer’s friends and went to Rosie McCann’s for some dancing. It was my first time there, and the DJ was pretty good! Had ;an interesting discussion on the way home as well…

I’m coming to realise more and more ;how disproportionately important ;first impressions can be with people, especially with girls. You can be the nicest guy in the world, but if you screw up in the beginning (as I usually do to spectacular effect), then you’re pretty much hosed from then on out, with no second chances. Conversely, if you’re a winner up front, you’ll usually get a lot of slack for any screwups you might make later on, no matter how egregious. Don’t get me wrong, I do understand the logic behind it. If I scare off someone before ;she gets to know me, ;she won’t realise that I’m actually worth the effort. But ;over the ;past few months, I’ve heard ;so many stories ;from my female friends about the stupid things their guys have done, things that even I would never say or do (and that’s saying something). They also ;tell me about ;the multiple lifelines they continue to give these fellows. And all I can do is shake my head and go, “WHY?”

sigh… ok, mini-rant over.

BTW, I really need to get my ass over to the San Jose Tech Museum. They have an exhibit on the history of video games, and it looks really cool.

Oh, and I finally received my copy of “Real Vorld: Ithaca”. This was a movie that a bunch of us made for the Society for India Diwali Show back in fall of 2003, when I was bumming around looking for a job. While there were some cringe-worthy moments (and I was responsible for my fair share of them), there were some genuinely funny moments too (and I had me share of those too). Can’t wait to show it to my friends. They’ll be bored outta their minds love it!

Leave a Reply

