7-May-2005

Ok, I admit it, I am a lightweight. I am a 5’10 1/2″, 190 lb guy, and I am being consistently outdrunk (by at least 3x as much) by someone half my size. Yes, it’s embarassing. And yes, I’ll live with it. I’d like to see how your tolerance holds up once you gradaute and become another one of us working stiffs.

So yesterday I got to Happy Hour at Pedros, which was packed, and got 2 margaritas. I’d been waiting there for a while, and this gal came up next to me, and we were commenting about how long it took. I mentioned that I was gonna get two margaritas. The barkeep asked for her order before he asked me, and she ordered four margaritas… two for her, and two for me. She was smiling at me the whole time, so I’m not sure if she was flirting or just being nice. Either way, I gave her the money I had out for the drinks and said thanks. She was decent looking, so I waited to see if she’d keep talking. She didn’t, so I rejoined the Beer Club group. Mo was quite impressed that I was double-fisting.

After we got to our table, I realised that I’d taken on a little more than I could handle. I could drink the two margaritas, but I definitely would not have been able to drive in 20 minutes. So I sold my second one to another guy at our table (at cost), and finished my first. I also pounded down a lot of chips and salsa, as well as a couple of glasses of water. And I was showing some basic salsa steps to this cute girl in the group. Some lady at another table started laughing, but I think I waved her off. Oh well… who says I can’t have a good time when I’m drunk?

Shortly thereafter, I made my way to P.F.Changs. Being that I was still slightly inebriated, I drove quite carefully, and made it there in one piece. Dinner was actually kinda fun. It was a larger group than I expected. I’m not a big fan of the food there, but the group was nice. Pintu’s friend Onofre (sp?) showed up, and we were chatting. He was asking me if I was single or not. I don’t know if he was hitting on me or just being friendly. I mentioned that I hadn’t found a lucky lady yet, and that was the end of that. Anyway, he was pretty cool, and we all had a good time. I had a few glasses of wine, so my buzz never completely disappeared.

As we were leaving, I crossed the street on my way to the car (checking carefully for traffic), and a cop called me over to tell me I was jaywalking. I stayed calm and polite as he chatted with me and looked at my license. I told him I’d had a couple of glasses of wine, and wanted to walk it off. He gave me a warning, and sent me on my way. As I got closer to my car, I looked around to make sure he wasn’t in sight, then I took a back road all the way home (which was only a couple of miles away anyway). Definitely an interesting evening.

I’ve been advised not to work too many hours today, and I don’t think I’ll be able to gym or go dancing. But I definitely want to go see Ralphie May at The Improv tonight. I might have to go by myself, so let’s see how it goes.

Leave a Reply

