7-Mar-2005

I mentioned yesterday there was something else I wanted to talk about. So, on Friday night, when Hemal and I were on our way to SF to meet the cousins, my parents called. Hadn’t talked to them in a while, and mom was a little pissed that I hadn’t called in so long. Anyway, in the middle of the conversation, Dad drops a little bombshell on me.

Chirag, you’re a manglik.

Now, first of all, what is a manglik ? A Google search will give you some answers and explanations, but basically it has to do with the planet Mars, and it’s position when you’re born. If it is in certain houses, then you can be classified as manglik . What is the significance? Apparently, people close to a manglik person put themselves at risk. So, if I’m manglik and marry a non- manglik girl, then something bad might happen to her.

How does this affect me? Simple. If I were not manglik , but in love with a manglik girl, then I’m the one putting myself at risk. In that scenario, I can at least attempt to browbeat my parents into letting me do what I want. I might not succeed fully (and I know my mother would shed an oceanful of tears), but at least I can try. I’m the one with the choices. But if I’m the one who’s manglik , then the girl is ostensibly putting herself at risk, which means her parents will be the ones with the problem. And I can’t necessarily browbeat them, now can I? In other words, any decision-making ability on my part has now been taken away from me, and THAT is what pisses me off. Other people will (once again) be deciding emotional aspects of my life for me, and there will be nothing I can do about it.

Personally, I don’t believe in this shit. I strongly believe there is a God, but I also strongly believe that He (or She) has better things to do than worry about insignificant and idiotic things like this. My parents kinda believe in it, especially my mom and her family, because she lost her eldest brother in something they believe to be manglik -related. And while I can sympathise with their concern, it really, really bugs me.

OK, rant over. The other thing I wanted to mention, I will post up here later today. It’s more of a participatory thing from you readers, so let’s see how it goes.

Leave a Reply

