10-Dec-2004

My cubemate John returned from Tuscon yesterday, where he’d run in the Tuscon Marathon. John’s a pretty cool guy (even at 58), and he keeps trying to convince me that I should train for a marathon myself, since I’m young and the body is such an amazingly adaptable machine, and so on and so forth. In fact, I actually considered it. I did some research, and most beginner’s marathon training programs were 4 months long, and assumed that I ran 12-15 miles per week for several weeks before that. 12-15 miles per week equals 2-3 miles per day, 5 days a week, which is very do-able. Now the task was to find a marathon that was a suitable distance away, time-wise. Since this was in the middle of August, I was looking for something in the first quarter of ’05.

On a hunch, I checked to see when the Austin marathon was. Imagine my amusement when I saw that it is scheduled for Feb 13th. This was just too good to be true! Of course, as usually happens in my life, it was too good to be true.

I started out the first couple of weeks pretty well. I increased my daily running, and it even got to the point where I would be willing to skip my weight-training so I could run. Believe me when I say I was more shocked than anyone when I realised this. Now, if I actually went through with this, I’d have to start my actual training in early October. ;However, I was trying to be realistic about this. I told myself that I would only go through with this on two conditions:
1) After running for 5-6 weeks, I’d see how I felt. By early-October, if I thought I could handle ramping up the distance, then I would go forward.
2) I needed the extra personal motivation to go to Austin. If things moved forward with her, that would give me even more of an incentive to make this work. Besides, Valentine’s Day was the day after the marathon, so in an ideal situation, I would have had a very nice recovery period.

Like I said, the first two weeks were going pretty well. Along with the running, I was keeping active in other ways as well, like playing on my softball team. That turned out to be a big mistake. During one of the games (our first loss), ;I hurt my heel while trying to make 2nd base, leaving me incapable of putting any weight on my heel. At all. And if you can’t put any weight on your heel, you can’t run. Not for more than 100 yards, anyway. This meant my training was curtailed. Not good.

Normally, I would have tried to work around it, assuming I had that extra emotional motivation. However, by the end of September, I wasn’t getting much of the vibe from her side. Things weren’t going badly, per se, but they weren’t going tremendously well either. I’d pretty much given up the idea of the marathon anyway. Turns out, it was just as well. In mid November, I pretty much screwed the pooch with her by coming on too strong. *shrugs* Maybe someday, I’ll eventually learn how ;to not care enough to get them to care. ;Perhaps by the time I’m 30, I’ll figure it out.

Leave a Reply

