14-Nov-2004

Wow. That’s all I can say. Wow.

Went to the Yanni concert last night. I gotta tell ya, it was something else. I had some pretty sweet seats, about 30 feet from the stage, off to one side. The show itself was pretty long, lasting over 2 hours and 40 minutes, but that included a 15 minute intermission. Out of all the songs they played, I recognised about half of them, which means there’s a lot of Yanni music I haven’t heard yet. The orchestra itself was a good deal smaller than the one at the Acropolis concert, and I could kind of tell that the orchestration wasn’t as full. But that didn’t detract in anyway.

In the Acropolis concert, several musicians were spotlighted, especially the violinist in the red dress and the drummer (a Yanni staple, Charlie Adams). The violinist wasn’t here, but Charlie was back, and he was awesome, especially when he had his little drum solo section in the middle of Marching Season . There were several other artists who had “spotlight” moments. My personal favourite was this big Venezuelan dude who was playing wind instruments. He primarily played the sax and a wooden flute, but he played a few others as well. And, as much as the flute might seem like a girly instrument, he was absolutely badass while playing it. There were a couple of outstanding violinists, an awesome trumpet player, a gypsy-wannabe harp player, a guy playing the dulcimer (i.e. santoor), the other main percussionist (who had this great routine where he was banging two big sticks vertically on the ground and using that as a rhythm), and this Australian dude who was playing a didgeridoo . There were a couple of female vocalists also.

A lot of times, whenever I’m listening to music that really affects me, I literally feel this shiver run through me. It happens whenever I feel some overwhelming emotion. I gotta say, there were several moments when that happened last night. One of the best parts was at the end. I had been waiting for them to play Santorini , one of my favourite pieces and one of his most famous. In case you’re wondering, it’s the song that opens the Acropolis concert. The bugger waited till the end of the concert before they played it, but it was worth it.

After the concert was over, there were the usual curtain calls and an encore. But he claimed that they didn’t know any more music, so they ended up playing a song from earlier in the concert. Fortunately, it was one of the more exciting ones, with the spotlight being transferred among the violinists, trumpeter, harpist, and flautist. A great end to a great concert!

Tonight, I go to see Veer Zaara. I hope it’s at least decent. For my next entry, I’ll probably relate a conversation I had with one of my best friends about the differences in dating between India and here. Nothing earth-shattering, but it helped me realise a few things…

Leave a Reply

