9-Nov-2004

Saw The Incredibles on Saturday. Technically, the film was amazing. But it just seemed to lack a little … something. An emotional pull. The movie looked great, and it was an awesome achievement, but in all honesty, after almost 2 hours, I just didn’t care . Compare that to Monsters Inc., when I had a lump in my throat at the ending, or Finding Nemo, when I was honestly happy when the dad finds his kid. These weren’t surprising endings. It’s just that the movies had done a good job of making me feel for the characters involved. With The Incredibles, I felt kinda detached. It’s still a good movie, but not the best they’ve done. Still, it’s worth a watch. 8.5/10.

I was just reading a few news articles about how Karl Rove stated that Bush would “absolutely” push for a federal constitutional amendment banning same-sex marriage. In his words, “If we want to have a hopeful and decent society, we ought to aim for the ideal. And the ideal is that marriage ought to be, and should be, a union of a man and a woman.” For all of the rhetoric about Bush keeping this country safer against terrorism, it’s a sad statement about America that the President owes most of his survival to standing in the way of legal equality for an unpopular class of Americans. I stated 5 days ago that this country would be worse off after 4 more years of Bush. I guess this is just Phase 1. One can only hope that he backs down and finds some form of compromise. If his greatest legacy is changing the constitution in order to deny certain freedoms to some of America’s citizens, it’ll be a sad moment in history indeed.

On another note, I consider myself to be an honest person. A straight shooter. A What-You-See-Is-What-You-Get kinda guy. When I feel strongly about something, I express my opinion. And when I feel strongly about someone, I let that person know. But almost everytime I’ve done this, it’s always ended up hurting me, and yet, I never seem to learn. The next time a chance appears, I do it again. My friends and closest advisors (yes, I have advisors) tell me to play it cool, to not try so hard. And I make that effort to hold back, I do. In fact, I have never held back as much as I did this last time. But, aside from being an honest guy, I’m an all-or-nothing kind of guy. Either I give it everything, or I don’t bother. That way, I have no regrets. I’d sooner try and fail, rather than go “I coulda/shoulda/woulda done something.” But there’s only so many times I can keep doing this. There’s only so many times I can put myself out on that limb, only to cut off the branch myself. And everytime I vow to not let it happen again… it happens again. I can laugh about it after time has passed, but I gotta tell ya… it’s pissing the hell out of me. And it’s not doing wonders for my self-confidence either.

Sorry, I had to rant there. I might unload another time or two in the near future, but I think that was the bulk of it.

Leave a Reply

