10-Apr-2004

Trivia night was … interesting. Ok, so I went to this sports bar about 2.5 miles from my place (a little further than I thought). I’m drafted into a team with 3 other Chinese guys, one of whom works in my company and who I’ve met before. Now, since I’d mentioned that I did trivia in high school, and apparently two of the guys in my team were supposed to be good, people called us ringers, so that’s what our team name became: “The Ringers”. Alas, after about 6 questions that we had no idea how to answer, we quickly decided to change our name to “The Dingers”. After the first two rounds, we were tied for last place with a team of drunk guys called “The Nutless Wonders”. *rolls eyes* The main problem was that a lot of the questions early on dealt with trivia related to the 50’s and 60’s, and most of the audience hadn’t been born then. Things eased out later on, and we ended up doing somewhat respectably (we weren’t last!!). But we were nowhere near winning the $100 first prize. Sheesh.

Here’s something else freaky. With a name like “The Sports Page”, you figure this would be a pretty manly place, right? While we’re sitting down, suddenly we hear “End of the Road” by Boyz II Men playing over the sound system. In a sports bar. I’m sorry but even though I love the song personally, that just isn’t right. Later selections included a Mariah Carey song (does it matter which?), and Sting’s “Fields of Gold”, another song I like but still wholly inappropriate. We discovered near the end that someone had selected those songs on the jukebox, but the fact that the box even had those albums was inexcusable. So, being the rapscallions that we are, The Dingers decided to continue the musical trend. For $1, we bought Cher’s “I believe”, Aqua’s “Barbie Girl”, and an AC/DC song to compensate. Sadly, we ended up leaving before the songs played, but still…

Tonight, Vicky, Siddharth and myself are going down to San Jose to a comedy club. Pablo Francisco is performing, and we’re gonna go watch. If you haven’t heard of him, he’s a pretty funny standup performer, and does excellent imitations. He was even featured on Comedy Central, so if you look him up, you might be able to catch a rerun of his 30 minute special. I remember the last (and only) time I went to a comedy show, the featured performer was Louis Ramey. If you don’t know who he is, he’s the bald black dude that “hosts” Nick At Nite. He was pretty awesome too, so hopefully this will be just as good.

Leave a Reply

