9-Apr-2004

So I’ve moved into my new digs (well, for the next 2 weeks anyway). I’m sitting in a cubicle in a massive room (did I say room? I meant hall) ;filled with more cubicles. According to Eric, the guy I’m working with, the building was built in the 50s, and it certainly feels like it. Apparently, the air circulation system comes on for 5 minutes in the morning, then stays off for the rest of the day. At least, that’s what I heard from someone who works here. To make my time here more bearable, I burned an MP3 ;CD with 100 famous pieces of classical music, and I’m listening to it now. Pretty good stuff, actually. Even if you think you wouldn’t know any of them, you’ve probably heard a lot of them in commercials and cartoons. The best part is that they’re in the public domain, so I can’t get in trouble for burning the CD.

It seems my move had consequences for other people as well. The chair I had been using in the previous building had actually been borrowed from Eric’s cubicle mate. Now, the evening before the move, I put signs on my computer and a box of stuff (but ;NOT the chair), marking them as mine. I came in yesterday morning, and my computer and box had been taken to Eric’s cube in preparation for the move, and the chair was gone altogether. I have no idea who took it, only that it wasn’t moved here. ;Today, Eric’s former cubemate sent him an email complaining about it. Apparently, it’s a pretty big deal to get a chair around here. People seem to be very territorial about their stuff over here. Feels worse than an Indian Government office sometimes.

I saw The Man Who Knew Too Much last night. It was a good Hitchcock movie, but I think the hype had spoiled it for me. Nonetheless, I recommend it to anyone who is interested in thrillers. The 10 minute musical finale (with no spoken dialogue) is a great sequence, and Doris Day is very cute. James Stewart’s accent got a bit annoying, though. Now to watch the other Hitchcock films…

Tonight, the Beer Club is meeting at The Sports Page again, a sports bar 1.5 miles away from my house. More important, they’re having Trivia Night, and first prize is $100 for the winning team. It’ll be my first quiz competition since high school. Let’s see if the juices are still flowing. I’ll let y’all know how it goes.

One Response to “9-Apr-2004”

  1. Diksha Says:

    Good luck on trivia night 🙂

Leave a Reply

