7-Apr-2004

So, Darna Mana Hai was an interesting movie. I guess the best way to describe it would be an Indian attempt at The Twilight Zone. The basic premise is that seven friends are travelling one night when their car breaks down. They decide to wait at a nearby house, and end up telling scary stories around a bonfire to pass the time. These stories are presented as individual fifteen-minute clips, and form the bulk of the film. In the meantime, there is a larger story going on in the background involving the kids.

I guess what I found most interesting about the film is that all seven kids are relatively no-name actors, while the fifteen minute stories star famous actors like Saif Ali Khan, Nana Patekar, Vivek Oberoi and Shilpa Shetty. As I mentioned above, the stories are very reminiscent of the Twilight Zone, with one story in particular (the last one) having a premise very similar to an actual Twilight Zone episode that I’d seen (and loved) a long time ago. These stories form the actual fun part of the movie, as they can be quite unpredictable for the most part. They are all very stylishly shot and edited, and quite well directed. The main story itself (involving the 7 kids) feels like somewhat of an afterthought, and doesn’t gel very well. Nonetheless, a great attempt at something different. Check it out. For you non-Hindi speakers, it has sub-titles.

The group I’m working with temporarily will be relocating to a new building tomorrow, so I’ll be moving along with them, even though I’m only going to be working with them for another couple of weeks. I guess that means another day wasted. *shrugs* At least this one wasn’t my fault.

I might have some fun(ny) plans for this weekend, so I’ll keep y’all posted. Kristina said that reading my blog lets her feel like she knows everything that goes on in my life. All I gotta say is, not everything in my life goes up on my blog.

Leave a Reply

