5-Apr-2004

This was a busy weekend. On Saturday, I was at the Jain temple from 11a-7:30p. First we had a meeting, then I stayed to try and recuit as many uncles and aunties to volunteer for the convention as I could. Afterwards, I went to meet up with my aunt’s husband’s nephew. My aunt had called me in the morning and asked me to spend some time with the dude, since he lived about 15 miles from me and was feeling kinda lonely and depressed. Anyway, it wasn’t too bad an evening. We went to the nearby AMC and saw Hellboy, and got some dinner. He stayed the night at my place, and I dropped him off this (Sunday) morning. And since I had done my weekly YJA meeting on Saturday, this was my first free Sunday in weeks.

As for Hellboy, I liked it. It’s based on a comic book character, but odds are you’ve never heard of him. Neither had I, until this movie. But it’s an interesting idea. Towards the end of WW2, American GIs disrupt a Nazi occult ceremony to bring in some crazy Gods of Chaos. They close the portal, but not before a small devil child makes it through. He’s red, got horns and a tail, and has a massive, unbreakable stone glove on his right hand. He’s raised by a scientist who heads the Bureau for Paranormal Research and Defence, and becomes a force for good. As the professor explains in the preview, “There are things that go bump in the night. We are the ones who bump back.”

It’s a fun movie. I wouldn’t rate it as highly as X-Men 2 in terms of comic book movies, but I enjoyed it more than Spiderman. The movie never takes itself too seriously (like it even could), and never forgets to have fun along the way. I personally would have preferred even more action scenes, but this was still a good movie. Not a bad way to kill a weekend afternoon.

There are lots of other movies coming out this summer that I’m gonna want to see in the theatres. This month alone, there’s Kill Bill Vol. 2, The Punisher (both Apr 16), Man on Fire (only because I read the book when I was 10 and really liked it) (Apr 23), and maybe The Girl Next Door (Apr 9), but only because Elisha Cuthbert is scorchingly hot. Then there’s the rest of the summer blockbusters. My wallet will feel empty this summer.

Anyway, time to watch Darna Mana Hai. I heard it’s a good, offbeat movie. Let’s see.

2 Responses to “5-Apr-2004”

  1. sirm Says:

    yeah, I dont know why they are making so many movies based on the comic books…they arent that exciting. X-Men 2 was the exception, rather than the rule

  2. Diksha Says:

    Yay for you coming to Ithaca in a few weeks 🙂

Leave a Reply

