29-Mar-2004

I saw The Passion Of The Christ yesterday with Kumar. I’d heard enough about it, and decided to see for myself what the hoopla was about. Before I say anything else, I did like the movie. And yes, it is violent. Very violent. Definitely not for kids under 13, and even under 17 is questionable. But if you’ve been following the news, you already knew that.

The movie was powerful, but it almost felt like Mel Gibson was trying to make the movie feel powerful, instead of letting the story talk for itself. Also, while I understand that he wanted to show the pain and suffering Christ endured, methinks he focussed a little too much on it. The movie as a whole was too sad , and aside from the brief flashbacks into Christ’s life strewn throughout the movie, there was very little hope in the film, until the last scene. I won’t tell you what the last scene is, but if you have even a cursory knowledge of Christ’s life, you can guess what happened. I’ll give you a hint, though. Easter is coming soon. Anyway, there were some emotional moments, like when he was forsaken by Peter, and when his mother ran to help him while he was carrying the cross. Jim Caviezel did a stellar job, and the movie soundtrack was especially good. As I said before, I liked it.

And no, I didn’t think it was anti-Semitic. Then again, I’m not Jewish. *shrugs*

I also finished watching the 5th season of That 70s Show, and I gotta tell you, this is one hell of a comedy show. If you’ve seen it, you know what I’m talking about. If you haven’t, you don’t know what you’re missing. Screw Friends – this is probably one of the best and most consistently innovative sitcoms to come out in the past 20 years.I’ve watched the first 5 seasons over the past few months, and I gotta tell you, they’ve been consistently great. Great characters, great writing, and above all, great actors. I especially love Topher Grace (Eric Forman, who definitely deserves awards), Kurtwood Smith (Red Forman, the best badass in any sitcom), Debra Jo Rupp (Kitty Forman, she of the funny laugh) and Wilder Valderrama (Fez, of unknown nationality). If these shows come out on DVD (and they deserve to), then I highly suggest you at least rent them, if not get them outright. Wonderful stuff.

BTW, cricket update. The first test match started yesterday, and the Indian batting has been demolishing Pakistan. Specifically Virender Sehwag who, as of this writing, has already achieved the top score ever by an Indian, and is on his way to becoming the first Indian triple centurion. Sachin is giving him company on an unbeaten century, but damn this is looking good. If we keep this up, we’ll be hard pressed to lose. Now it all depends on our bowling. Let’s see if they can get the 20 wickets we need.

One Response to “29-Mar-2004”

  1. sirm Says:

    i still havent seen passion…I kinda want to check it out, but I also dont want mel gibson to get any richer than he already is

Leave a Reply

